first_imgAustralasian accommodation industry’s brightest stars have been recognised at the 2012 Hotel Management Awards held in Sydney last Friday, in front of almost 600 hoteliers, industry leaders and major suppliers. Hosted by TV personality Larry Emdur, the 10th annual awards saw the accommodation industry’s finest staff, properties, brands and chains across Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific awarded across 47 categories. Out of a record 2300 entries, major winners on the night were Accor Asia-Pacific’s Michael Issenberg (Asia-Pacific Hotelier of the Year), Quest Serviced Apartments’ Paul Constantinou (Australasian Hotelier of the Year), Park Hyatt Sydney (Hotel of the Year), The Langham (Hotel Brand), Accor Hotels (Accommodation Chain) and Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa (Environmental Program). Following the property’s major refurbishment, Park Hyatt Sydney took out the honours of the Luxury Hotel and Interior Design award as well as the Hotel of the Year. Hamilton Island’s qualia beat tough competition to win the Resort, Day Spa and Hotel Chef (Alastair Waddell) categories. The best New Hotel award was snatched up by the Hilton Surfers Paradise, while the Hilton chain also enjoyed awards with Hotel Bar (Zeta at Hilton Sydney) and New Zealand Regional Property (Hilton Lake Taupo). The best New Zealand Lodge award was won by Huka Lodge in Taupo and the InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort and Spa won the best Fijian Property award. In recognition for their careers in the Australasian hotel industry, this year’s inductees into the Hall of Fame were Koos Klein (Voyages Indigenous Tourism) and Grant Hunt (Anthology) along with recognition of the Oatley Family for their significant contribution to the industry through the ongoing development of Hamilton Island. The Accommodation Association of Australia (AAA) has congratulated all award recipients and finalists at the awards. AAA chief executive officer Richard Munro said the awards presentation was another fantastic display of tourism excellence within our industry. “On behalf of the Accommodation Association, I am thrilled to congratulate the winners and credit them on their outstanding performance,” Mr Munro said. “The winners have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to investment in tourism as well as high levels of service.” A full list of the winners can be found at Source = e-Travel Blackboard: K.Wlast_img